The story of the Clos du Moulin
The history of the plot dates back to the 18th century, when King Louis XV granted it to his officer, Allard de Maisonneuve, in recognition of his loyal service to the French crown. In the centre of the plot stood a windmill, and this is what gave the plot’s wine its name.
The windmill was destroyed by fire in 1789. It was then rebuilt in stone, and stood until the beginning of the 20th century. Alas, the ravages of time and two world wars savaged Reims and the region, completely erasing the windmill and almost all of the walls around it. The archives show that the wine produced in these two plots has long been highly prized, gracing the tables of many of the greatest courts in Western Europe and Russia.
In 1950, Jean Cattier took over this magnificent 2.20ha plot in Ludes, right in the heart of the Montagne de Reims wine country. The first bottles of his Clos du Moulin were made from the very first harvest in 1951, and were released onto the market in 1955.
One parcel, two varieties, three vintages
The 2.2ha are planted with an equal mix of Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, Champagne’s iconic varieties.
In fact, this champagne is doubly blended: wines made from Pinot Noir and Chardonnay are combined, and then three carefully selected vintages are blended together to form the finished blend. These mature and harmonise for 7 to 8 years in the Cattier cellars, allowing the wine to develop its trademark finesse and complexity.
The plot’s limited size reduces the quantities available on the market, making Clos du Moulin one of the most exclusive champagnes in the world. Only 15,000 bottles of white and 3,000 bottles of rosé (plus a few magnums) are made, and only in good years. Each bottle is marked with its own unique number.
The creation of a unique cuvée
The cuvée Meunier Millésime 2016 is composed of 100% Meunier grapes from Chigny-les-Roses, Rilly-la-Montagne, and Ludes, terroirs renowned for the richness and finesse of their Meunier grapes.